Subscribe

Cum sociis natoque penatibus et magnis
[contact-form-7 404 "Not Found"]

Suscribe for news

Suscribe for news

Fantasmapolis

Photographic serie / 2012 - 2017
A journey, a wandering in an imaginary city, as described in the texts of Italo Calvino “The Invisible Cities”.


These neglected spaces, rejected by the “hyperactive City”, are similar to a visual, almost cartographic writing. What interests me particularly is the notion of urban fragility in which more than 50% of the world’s population lives today. The stone and concrete, which seem solid and immutable, are nevertheless fragile and disintegrate with the action of time.

“Fantasmapolis” highlights the difficulty of man to be able to maintain and preserve the functional “Urban”. As if the population had gradually decreased, there was only a minimum maintenance of certain organs such as a pharmacy, a grocery store, or a cash dispenser; As we see today in our rural areas that are deserting themselves.

Fantasmapolis seems inhabited by man … But human beings are here extracted, it is rather the idea of their phantoms that arises with the imaging of this trace of a possible (im) probable. Locally survive light, electricity, distributors, signs of presence, connections.

It is also a sign of hope that emerges, life resists in this environment, like a new growth after the winter.

Subscribe

Cum sociis natoque penatibus et magnis
[contact-form-7 404 "Not Found"]

Fantasmapolis

Série photographique / 2012 - 2017

Un parcours, une errance dans une ville imaginaire, tel que cela peut-être décrit par les textes d’Italo Calvino « Les villes invisibles ».

Ces espaces délaissés, rejetés par la « Ville hyperactive », s’apparentent à une écriture visuelle, presque cartographique. Ce qui m’intéresse particulièrement, c’est cette notion de fragilité urbaine dans laquelle vit plus de 50% de la population mondiale aujourd’hui. La pierre, le béton qui semblent solides et immuables, sont pourtant fragiles et se délitent avec l’action du temps.

« Fantasmapolis » met en évidence la difficulté de l’homme à pouvoir maintenir et conserver « l’Urbain » fonctionnel. Comme si, alors que la population avait progressivement diminué, ne subsistait qu’une maintenance minimum de certains organes tels une pharmacie, une épicerie, ou un distributeur de billets ; à l’image de ce que l’on constate aujourd’hui dans nos zones rurales qui se désertifient.

Fantasmapolis semble habité par l’homme… Mais les êtres humains sont ici extraits, c’est plutôt l’idée de leurs fantômes qui surgit avec la mise en image de cette trace d’un possible (im)probable. Survivent par endroits la lumière, l’électricité, les distributeurs, des signes de présence, de connexions.

C’est aussi un signe d’espoir qui émerge, la vie résiste dans cet environnement, comme une nouvelle pousse après l’hiver.