Subscribe

Cum sociis natoque penatibus et magnis
[contact-form-7 404 "Not Found"]

Suscribe for news

[contact-form-7 404 "Not Found"]

String theory

Tirage photographique fine-art 135 cm x 95 cm. 2015

Location: 65 ° 37’21.8”N & 16 ° 55’08.9”W

Time: 00h00 GMT

The Theory was performed at 65 ° N, on the edge of Lake Mývatn on a single place, June 13, 2014 from midnight until dawn. At this latitude and at this time of year, the position of the sun borders on the horizon, a limit between day and night, a temporal, spatial and visual boundary.

It is a touch, which gives a strange feeling: unreal tinted exoticism, illogical feeling too, because the night is not there. Yet he is already the day after.

This series invites us to make a transverse experience: to caress the threshold between light and dark, to taste the almost fusional tenuity between dusk and dawn. She questions the perceptual edge between these two ephemeral states by exploring the porosities that may exist or occur.

The slow-motion photography, coupled with the movement of the camera, reveals on the image that part of the invisible, this unknown, indefinable, unimaginable perhaps, infinitely greater than that of the visible within our reach.

The images reveal streaks of light that vibrate like strings.

String theory focuses on transcribing this experience and this particular sensation: the midnight sun.

Subscribe

Cum sociis natoque penatibus et magnis
[contact-form-7 404 "Not Found"]

String theory

Tirage photographique fine-art 135 cm x 95 cm. 2015

Localisation : 65°37’21.8’’N & 16°55’08.9’’W

Heure : 00h00 GMT

 

String Theory a été réalisée au niveau du 65° N, en bordure du lac Mývatn sur un lieu unique, le 13 juin 2014 de minuit jusqu’à l’aube. À cette latitude et en cette période de l’année, la position du soleil frôle l’horizon, limite entre le jour et la nuit, frontière à la fois temporelle, spatiale et visuelle.

Il s’agit d’un effleurement, qui procure un sentiment étrange : irréel teinté d’exotisme, sentiment illogique aussi, car la nuit n’est pas là. Pourtant il est déjà le jour d’après.

Cette série invite à faire une expérience transverse : à caresser le seuil entre la lumière et l’obscurité, à goûter la ténuité quasi fusionnelle entre le crépuscule et l’aurore. Elle y interroge la lisière perceptive entre ces deux états éphèmères en explorant les porosités qui peuvent exister ou survenir.

La photographie en pose lente, couplée avec le mouvement de caméra fait apparaître sur l’image cette part d’invisible, cet inconnu, indéfinissable, inimaginable peut-être, infiniment plus grand que celle du visible à notre portée.

Les images révèlent des raies de lumières qui vibrent à la manière de cordes.

String theory s’attache à retranscrire cette expérience et cette sensation particulière : le soleil de minuit.